Tuesday 30 January 2018

5 Facebook Advertising Tips to Help You Maximize Your Budget in 2018

If you want to be successful on Facebook in 2018, you’ll need more than just incredible content.

In fact, Facebook marketing success is as much about distribution as it is content. Especially as organic reach in Facebook’s News Feed continues to decline for many Pages.

So how do you get your Facebook content in front of more people? And not just any people, the right people — your target audience.

In 2018, many businesses are turning to Facebook ads as a way to boost the performance of their content. In our State of Social 2018 report we found that:

  • 94% of businesses have invested in advertising on Facebook; and
  • 67% of businesses intend to increase their social media advertising budget in 2018.

Added to our findings, Forrester believes that the total US digital marketing spend will be near $120 billion by 2021, meaning investment is still on an upward curve.

So when it comes to creating the perfect Facebook Ads for your business, what factors should you consider?

Here are five Facebook advertising tips to help you get the most bang for your buck in 2018…

1. Think about who you’re targeting

With Facebook advertising, it’s not so much about reaching the most people as it is reaching the right people.

Sure, big numbers look awesome on your reports, but you need to reach people who are open to discovering your content, curious about your business and receptive to your message. And that’s probably fewer people than you think.

When it comes to targeting and reaching your audience with a super-relevant message, you need to understand:

  • What platforms your audiences use?
  • What types of language they use and how do they communicate?
  • What types of content they engage with most often?

More often than not, you can find the answers to these questions through data and research.

One of the best places to look to learn more about your audience is Facebook’s Audience Insights.

Audience Insights gives you the opportunity to learn more about a specific audience. For example, by checking out Buffer’s insights I was able to learn:

1. People in our audience also tend to like other ‘software companies’ like Moz, Mailchimp, and WordPress. As well as ‘internet companies’ like Hootsuite, ClickFunnels, and Salesforce. With this data, we begin “watching” these Pages to keep an eye on what’s working for them.

2. 35% of our audience work in management. This could help us to think about the language we use in out Facebook adverts as well as the story we tell.

3. People in our audience are more likely to click on an advert than the average Facebook user.

This only scratches the surface of what you can learn about your audience from Facebook’s Audience Insights.

To check the Audience Insights for your own Page head to: https://www.facebook.com/ads/audience-insights/ and choose the “People connected to your Page” option:

And then you can drill down your data even further using the options on the left-hand panel:

You can use these newfound learnings about your audience to create even more targeted ads and craft messages that you know will connect with your prospective customers.

For example, at Buffer, when we wanted to boost our podcast downloads, we created an audience of people we knew would be interested in our ads before spending a dollar. As Brian explains on his blog, we:

  1. Created a custom audience of people who had visited our blog or Buffer.com
  2. Added an additional layer of targeting to only deliver ads to people using iPhone, iPad, and other iOS devices
  3. Promoted our most popular podcast episodes as we knew this content would appeal to our audience

This approach resulted in 3,870 clicks to our podcast episodes for a spend of $922.

2. Tell a great story

Stories are an integral part of human communication. And storytelling — whether in-person, through the written word, or social media — plays an important role in building connections with others.

When you’re planning on creating Facebook Ads, stories are essential to capture the interest of your target customers.

Take Refinery 29, an independent fashion and lifestyle website, for example. The brand generated two different Facebook ad campaigns, both aimed at bringing in new subscribers to their website.

The first campaign featured some eye-catching creative and a clear call-to-action to subscribe. Whereas the second ad set guided the viewer through a simple narrative including an introduction to the brand, an article from the brand, and then a call-to-action to subscribe. Ads for both campaigns were served in News Feed to lookalike audiences.

Here’s a glimpse at how the ads looked:

Campaign #1 (creative + call-to-action):

Campaign #2 (with narrative):

The results were fascinating:

  • Among those who were exposed to the sequenced, narrative-focused ads compared with those who were exposed to the non-sequenced ads, there was an 87% increase in people visiting the landing page
  • There was a 56% increase in subscription rates among people who were exposed to the sequenced ads compared with those who were exposed to the non-sequenced ads

When you’re planning your Facebook campaigns, think about how you can create a narrative and tell stories within your ads in order to build a stronger connection with your target audience.

For more on how you can use storytelling techniques in your social media posts and ads, check out this guide.

3. Monitor performance and adjust in real-time

Social media has changed the world of advertising a great deal.

Back 10-15 years ago, if you ran an advert on TV, radio or even online, you didn’t really have any idea how it was being received in real time.

Now, social media enables you to monitor your ad performance from the moment you set the campaign live.

It might be tempting to set your ad campaigns live and then come back to check performance once each campaign is completed. But by doing this, you’re missing out on massive opportunities to enhance the performance of each of your ads.

Monitoring your Facebook Ads campaigns in real-time enables you to know whether or not your ads are resonating with people and allows you to make adjustments as you go along. For example:

  • If your clicks are lower than expected, it could be worth optimizing your call-to-action.
  • If your engagement is low, you could create a new ad set with updated creative.
  • If your reach is too low, try updating your audience targeting parameters.

You can view the performance data for your ads in Facebook Ads Manager:

By clicking on a particular campaign you can also view the performance of each individual ad within that campaign:

And to tweak a particular ad, click on “edit” link underneath the ad title and window will slide in enabling you to make changes:


You can make the following edits to your ads without creating an entirely new campaign:

  • Change your audience
  • Change your budget & schedule
  • Change your optimization & delivery choices
  • Change your placements
  • Change your ad creative

Chances are you won’t create the perfect ad first time around. It takes a lot of experimentation and learning to nail down ads that will deliver results for your business.

Ideally, you want to create several ad sets and ads before you start your campaign and then eliminate under-performing ads as your campaign progresses.

It can take a couple of days before you have enough campaign data to start measuring ad performance. Julian Shapiro recommends waiting until you have at least 2,000 reach per ad (number of people who’ve seen your ad) before comparing the performance of your various ads.

Once you’ve identified the ads that are performing well, then you can continue to iterate on those to get drive more value from your ad spend.

For example, in the below image you can see we:

  1. Started out with three ad variants
  2. Stopped running the under-performing ads
  3. Created an additional variation of the best-performing ad

4. Track the right metrics for your business

Before you start thinking about launching any Facebook Ads campaign, I would encourage you to think clearly about how you will measure the performance of your ads.

For example, are metrics like brand awareness and email subscribers your #1 focus, or maybe you’re focused fully on driving leads.

In our State of Social 2018 report, we found that most marketers (42 percent) measure the success of their ads by how much engagement they receive, with leads (17 percent) and sales (15 percent) being the second and third most common measures of ROI:

Having a clear measurement of success in mind before you kick off any advertising campaign will help you to understand the performance of your ads and make any needed adjustments to ensure you’re delivering maximum value for your business.

Our State of Social 2018 report also uncovered that companies that invest in social media ads are more than twice as likely to say social media marketing is “very effective” for their business:

So if you feel that social media isn’t delivering the desired results for your business, it could be worth experimenting with Facebook Ads to see if paid social media marketing can help you get the results you’re after.

5. Think long-term

The important thing with Facebook (or any kind of advertising or marketing) is to have a long-term strategy behind your actions.

Let’s say you create an ad set targeting engagement. Awesome! But what’s the long-term plan here? How will you turn this initial engagement into something more tangible for your business?

For example, if you’re running a health and fitness business that sells online exercise programs, you might run a video ad showcasing a simple home workout. This ad would be aimed at engagement and getting as many people to view, like and share your video as possible.

But instead of being the first and final piece of the jigsaw, this could act as a starting point to get new prospects into your funnel.

Using the Facebook pixel, you could then create a custom audience for people that have watched more than 10 percent of the video. Then, you could run an ad towards those people for a class schedule that’s hosted on your website or a trial of your exercise program. So even engagement campaigns can fit into your long-term strategy.

Here’s a simplified look at that campaign might look:

  • Ad Set 1: A video ad showing a simple home workout for people in our audience who are interested in fitness
  • Ad Set 2: A carousel ad looking to drive clicks to our website and increase brand awareness amongst people who watched 10 percent of the video in Ad Set 1
  • Ad Set 3: A conversion focused ad aiming to get people who clicked the link in the previous ad to become customers of our fitness company

You should also consider your customer lifetime value (LTV) before jumping into ads. LTV is the amount of revenue you generate from your average customer in their lifespan with your company.

If you’re selling subscriptions to an online tool at $30 per month and your average customer stays for 12 months your LTV would be $360.

A general rule is that you should aim to acquire customers for no more than one-third of your LTV. So with an LTV of $360, you might want to set your customer acquisition budget at $120 per new customer.

Over to you

Facebook advertising has proven incredibly valuable to thousands of businesses across the globe and I hope these quick tips will help you to make the most of your advertising budget in 2018.

Has your business invested in Facebook advertising yet? I’d love to hear your experiences and any Facebook advertising tips you might have.

Huge thanks to Buffer’s resident Facebook Ads whizz, Brian Peters, for his edits and suggestions for this piece. 



source https://blog.bufferapp.com/facebook-advertising-tips

Thursday 25 January 2018

2018 Social Media Trends Report: 10 Key Insights Into the Present and Future of Social Media

Social media is changing at a rapid pace.

For example, the content format Stories was introduced on several major social media platforms slightly more than a year ago. Now, it’s one of the most popular content individuals are posting. More than 300 million people are sharing stories on Instagram and WhatsApp separately every day, and 70 million people were posting daily to Messenger Day just six months after its launch1.

Due to its popularity, many businesses are now posting stories regularly, too.

To succeed on social media, it’s essential to stay ahead of the curve and understand the latest social media trends. Together with our State of Social 2018 report, we put together a comprehensive social media trends report. In this report, you’ll learn about the top major trends to help you succeed on social media in 2018.

2018 Social Media Trends Report: 10 Major Trends to Know in 2018

Top 10 social media trends to know for 2018

This report is inspired by the annual Internet Trends report by Mary Meeker, a partner at Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers. Being one of the most anticipated reports every year, the Internet Trends report shares valuable insights and statistics about the technology industry. While our report is nowhere as comprehensive as the Internet Trends report, we hope to shed some light on the social media landscape.

Here’s a quick overview of the ten major social media trends happening right now:

  1. There are now almost 2.5 billion social media users
  2. Social media is going mobile
  3. Social messaging overtook social media
  4. Social messaging will greatly benefit businesses
  5. Chatbots are becoming the norm
  6. Businesses can no longer afford to ignore social customer service
  7. Organic reach and referral traffic are plummeting
  8. Video is still the most popular content type
  9. User-generated content can help drive reach and engagement
  10. Businesses are pouring more money into social ads

We will dive into these ten major social media trends below. If you prefer to read a slide deck, here’s the full slide deck:

This report wouldn’t have been possible without the amazing studies, research, and data available. We’re very grateful to the companies and organizations that have collected and analyzed the data. You can find out more about their findings by clicking on the tiny blue squares throughout the report, such as this2.

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1. There are now almost 2.5 billion social media users

Social media is one of the best ways to reach your target audience because of its sheer size and the amount of data available.

According to Statista, there are 2.46 billion social media users in 2017, and this number is ever growing. It is predicted that there will be more than three billion social media users in 2021 — just three years from now3.

With social media, you can reach a massive amount of potential customers for free — through organic posts — or for a fee — through social media advertising. With ads targeting, you can reach very specific groups of audience based on their demographics, interests, past behavior, and more. There hasn’t been such a great opportunity to reach and engage your target audience before social media became popular. With this reason alone, I believe you can no longer ignore social media as part of running your business.

Here are the current user base of the six major social media platforms4:

  • Facebook: 2.07 billion monthly active users
  • Instagram: 800 million monthly active users
  • Twitter: 330 million monthly active users
  • LinkedIn: 500 million members
  • Pinterest: 200 million monthly active users
  • Snapchat: 178 million daily active users

You can see the growth of the respective social media platforms in the following few slides:

2. Social media is going mobile

We are becoming glued to our smartphones.

Facebook studied the behavior of 100 people while they were watching TV at home. 94 of them had their smartphone in their hands while watching TV. And one of the top reasons they look away from the TV is to use their smartphone.5

More and more people are also using social media on their smartphone. In fact, the majority of social media users are using the apps via their smartphone:

  • Facebook: 94 percent of its monthly active users6
  • Instagram: Because it’s a mobile-first app, I think it’s safe to assume most of its users use the app on mobile
  • Twitter: 82 percent of its monthly active users7
  • LinkedIn: 60 percent of its unique visitors access LinkedIn via a mobile device8
  • Pinterest: 80 percent of its traffic comes from mobile devices9
  • Snapchat: Snapchat only has a mobile app and no web application yet.

On top of these statistics, comScore’s 2017 U.S. Mobile App Report found that 78 percent of social media time is spent on mobile devices.

This trend increases the importance of creating mobile-friendly or mobile-first content. A few things you could do include creating images with the recommended size that will be displayed fully on mobile or creating square or vertical videos, which will take up more real estate on the phone screen than landscape videos when viewed vertically.

3. Social messaging overtook social media

Since the rise of social media in the last decade, the rise of social messaging is the next transformational shift that’s happening.

In fact, social messaging has already surpassed social media usage. According to Business Insider, there are more people using the top four social messaging apps (WhatsApp, Messenger, WeChat, and Viber) than the top four social media apps (Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and LinkedIn)10. Facebook Messenger alone has more than 1.3 billion monthly active users11, and Instagram is officially testing a standalone messaging app, Direct12.

The growth in social messaging is not showing signs of slowing down. Despite having three years of double-digit growth, the number of mobile messaging users is still growing at a significant rate13.

If social media has been a great opportunity for businesses, then social messaging cannot be ignored. And it is already showing tremendous benefits for businesses.

4. Social messaging will greatly benefit businesses

People used to communicate with businesses via the phone, then emails, and then social media. Now, it’s social messaging.

Facebook studied the messaging behavior of 12,500 people across 14 markets to understand consumers’ growing preference for messaging businesses. They found that messaging is helping businesses connect with their customers more than ever. Consumers use messaging to ask businesses questions, make appointments and purchases, and provide feedback.

Here are some other findings14:

  • Fifty-six percent would rather message than call a business for customer service
  • Sixty-one percent likes receiving personalized messages from businesses
  • More than fifty percent prefers shopping with a business they can message

Facebook is also increasingly helping businesses reach their customers via messaging apps. In 2017, they introduced Click-to-Messenger ads, Click-to-WhatsApp ads, and a new Facebook objective, Messages.

Consumers’ preferred way of communicating with businesses has always been shifting. Now, they are shifting towards social messaging. Is your business ready to receive your customers’ messages?

5. Chatbots are becoming the norm

The rising tide of social messaging also lifted the chatbot boat.

As Facebook Messenger grew, the number of bots in Messenger also grew — from 33,000 to more than 100,000 in just a year15. There are also chatbots in WeChat, Slack, Viber, iMessage, and many other platforms.

A survey by Oracle found that 80 percent of senior marketing and sales executives around the world are already using chatbots for their business or plans to use them by 202016. It’s easy to understand why. Chatbots can be used for a wide variety of purposes such as marketing, payments, customer service, and more. They will allow businesses to automate and scale many manual processes and enjoy massive cost-savings. Juniper Research estimated that chatbots will help businesses save up to $8 billion every year by 202217.

According to Business Insider, chatbot adoption is also taking off on the consumer front. More than half of Americans between the age of 18 and 55 have used chatbots before18. And consumers seem to be enjoying their interactions with chatbots, too. A survey of 5,000 people by LivePerson found that 38 percent felt positive about their chatbot experiences while only 11 percent felt negative19.

If you want to start thinking about using chatbot for your business, Facebook Messenger might be a great place to stay. Here are some ideas on how your business can use Facebook Messenger bots.

6. Businesses can no longer afford to ignore social customer service

Customer service used to be private conversations between a customer and a customer service representative. Social media has changed that entirely.

The public nature of social media platforms is giving these conversations more exposure. A survey of more than 1,000 people by Sprout Social found that 46 percent of the respondents have “called out” or complained about a business on social media20. Furthermore, with the ability to re-share a social media post, such complaints could be amplified and “go viral”.

Ignoring such social media posts can have dire repercussions for your business. Sprout Social discovered that, when shunned on social media, 30 percent of their respondents will go to a competitor and 26 percent will less likely use the company’s product or service. Such consequences help keep businesses accountable, and that’s why social media is now the top channel for customer service21.

On the other hand, responding to these social media posts can have several positive effects for businesses22:

  • 70 percent are more likely to use your product or service
  • 75 percent are likely to share the good experience on their own social media profile
  • 73 percent will share the positive interaction with their friends

At Buffer, we use Buffer Reply to listen to, engage, and help our customers on various social media platforms such as Twitter, Facebook, Messenger, and Instagram.

7. Organic reach and referral traffic are plummeting

In 2014, the organic reach on Facebook has fallen to six percent from 12 percent just the year before23. The organic reach on Facebook is likely even low now as Facebook introduced changes to its algorithm to prioritize posts from family and friends rather than Pages. Both Instagram and Twitter also have an algorithmic timeline, which affects organic reach. When we first wrote about this last year, many of our readers mentioned that they have also been experiencing such a fall.

Referral traffic from social media has also been falling as a result of lower organic reach. When fewer people see your social media posts, even fewer will click on your links and visit your website. According to Parse.ly, which monitors the referral traffic to more than 2,500 online media sites, referral traffic from Facebook — the top social referral source for many sites — has been almost halved in the past year24.

Facebook referral traffic trend 2017

This is in line with why we think organic social media is for engagement and brand building, not referral traffic or revenue. Social media is becoming an engagement channel.

While studies have shown that the average engagement on Facebook has fallen25, we were lucky to be able to increase our Facebook engagement by 50 percent year-on-year with some of these tactics.

8. Video is still the most popular content type

For the last two years, we (and many others) have been saying that video is the most popular content type. 2018 will be no different.

Buzzsumo’s research on 880 million Facebook posts in 2017 found that video posts have the highest average engagement and twice the level of engagement of other post types on average26. We have seen great results with our Facebook videos, too. Our Facebook video views increased by more than 900 percent year-on-year to 2.3 million in 2017 (with the help of a little Facebook promotion).

Buffer Facebook video views 2017

There are also many pieces of anecdotal evidence of the increasing popularity and importance of video. For example, Facebook and Instagram have been introducing many new video features over the recent years such as live videos and Stories. LinkedIn has also recently introduced native LinkedIn videos.

Marketers are also planning to spend more on video advertising in 2018. According to a survey by Animoto, more than 50 percent of marketers surveyed had planned to increase their spend on video ads on Facebook (63 percent), YouTube (60 percent), Twitter (52 percent), and Instagram (50 percent)27.

2018 will again be the year of video for social media. Here are some social video marketing tips for you.

9. User-generated content can help drive reach and engagement

With organic reach on social media falling, businesses are looking around for alternative ways to reach their audiences. One of which is user-generated content.

Many major brands such as BMW, Netflix, and Starbucks are reposting user-generated content as part of their content strategy, especially on Instagram28.

If you were to take a look at some statistics about user-generated content, it’ll be easy to understand why.

  • User-generated content featuring a brand drove seven times higher engagement than brand-generated Facebook posts29
  • Forty-five percent of the respondents of 4,500-people survey look at user-generated images for inspiration at least once a day30
  • Respondents of the same survey trust images from other consumers seven times more than ads31
  • Fifty-six percent of the respondents are more likely to buy a product after seeing a positive customer-generated post of it32

Instead of producing their own content all the time, businesses are tapping into the power of their audience (and influencers) and reposting user-generated content, which generates more engagement and trust. By reposting their customers’ social media posts, they are also encouraging more customers to post about their brands on social media, thereby increasing their brand reach.

If you are interested in getting started with such a content strategy in 2018, here’s our guide to running a user-generated content campaign.

10. Businesses are pouring more money into social ads

To combat falling organic reach and boost their social media marketing, businesses are also turning to social media advertising.

There are over six million Facebook advertisers and two million Instagram advertisers33. Instagram added the second million advertisers in just six months.

Social media ad spending has also been on the rise, growing more than 20 percent annually. eMarketer estimates that this high growth rate would continue until at least 2018 while Advertising agency Zenith Optimedia predicts that social media ad spending will overtake newspaper ad spending by 202034.

The high growth in the number of social media advertisers and social media ad spending is a great indication of the effectiveness (or necessity) of social media ads for businesses.

If you are just considering social media advertising and not sure which social media platform to start with, Facebook is the platform that produces the best ROI according to social media marketers around the world35. Here’s our Facebook advertising guide to help you get started.

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What other social media trends have you spotted?

As the major social media platforms continue to grow and introduce new features, the social media landscape will only get more exciting. We hope by sharing these ten current social media trends, you can stay ahead of the curve and succeed on social media.

  1. There are now almost 2.5 billion social media users
  2. Social media is going mobile
  3. Social messaging overtook social media
  4. Social messaging will greatly benefit businesses
  5. Chatbots are becoming the norm
  6. Businesses can no longer afford to ignore social customer service
  7. Organic reach and referral traffic are plummeting
  8. Video is still the most popular content type
  9. User-generated content can help drive reach and engagement
  10. Businesses are pouring more money into social ads

Have you spotted any other social media trends that I’ve missed? It’ll be great to know about them!

The awesome featured image was taken from Unsplash.



source https://blog.bufferapp.com/social-media-trends-2018

Tuesday 23 January 2018

Your Annual Social Media Conferences Guide: 20+ Top Conferences to Attend in 2018

Social media conferences are one of the best ways to learn from top practitioners in the field, connect with fellow social media marketers, and be inspired to do more great things on social media.

But how do you know which one to attend?

We hope to make things easier for you with this go-to guide for social media conferences in 2018. This guide includes more than 20 top and biggest social media conferences throughout the year and their key details, such as date, location, and ticket price.

20+ Social Media Conferences to Attend in 2018 (Spreadsheet Included!)

20+ social media conferences to attend in 2018

Here’s a table of the top social media conferences, arranged chronologically, for the rest of 2018, including the dates, locations, and ticket prices. (If you prefer to view the full spreadsheet, check it out here.)

Feel free to use these links to jump to the summary of the respective conference:

  1. Social Media Online Summit (Jan 27 – Feb 4, online)
  2. The DigiComm Summit (Feb 22-23. Huntington Beach)
  3. Traffic & Conversion Summit (Feb 26-28, San Diego)
  4. Social Media Week conferences (Feb 26 – Mar 2, Multiple locations)
  5. Digital Marketing Innovation Summit (Feb 27-28, New York)
  6. Social Media Marketing World (Feb 28 – Mar 2, San Diego)
  7. Social Media Conference for PR, Marketing and Corporate Communications (Mar 14-16, Orlando)
  8. Digital Marketing World Forum Expo Global (Apr 16-17, London)
  9. Social Media Strategies Summit (Apr 24-26, Chicago)
  10. Social Media Camp (May 2-3, Victoria, BC)
  11. Content Marketing Conference (May 2-4, Boston)
  12. The Social Shake-Up (May 7-9, Atlanta)
  13. Engage (May 16-18, Prague)
  14. Brand Marketing Summit (May 30-31, San Francisco)
  15. Social Media Summit (May, Dublin)
  16. Social Day (May 30 – Jun 1, London)
  17. VidCon (Jun 20-23, Anaheim)
  18. INBOUND (Sep 4-7, Boston)
  19. Content Marketing World (Sep 4-7, Cleveland)
  20. CMX Summit (Oct 1-3, Portland)
  21. Spredfast’s Smart Social Summit (Nov 5-7, Austin)
  22. Social Fresh Conference (Dec 5-7, Winter Park, Florida)

1. Social Media Online Summit

January 27 – February 4, online

Social Media Online Summit

(As this video couldn’t be embedded, I’ve linked the image above to the video.)

Date: January 27 – February 4, 2018

Location: Online

Price: Free

Social Media Online Summit 2018 is a free online conference bringing together more than 40 social media experts, influencers, and entrepreneurs to share their strategies for growing a business. The conference is broken into eight main sections: General social media, Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest, Snapchat, YouTube, and LinkedIn.

P.S. Our very talented digital marketing strategist, Brian Peters, will be sharing about social media trends in 2018 at this conference.

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2. The DigiComm Summit

February 22-23, Huntington Beach

The DigiComm Summit

Date: February 22-23, 2018

Location: Huntington Beach, California

Price: $2,090 to $2,190

The DigiComm Summit is a two-day conference by the PR News Group. You’ll hear real-world, tactical case studies on how to use social media for storytelling, communications, and PR by senior executives from companies like BuzzFeed, Disney, and The Onion.

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3. Traffic & Conversion Summit

February 26-28, San Diego

Date: February 26-28, 2018

Location: San Diego, California

Price: $1,995

Traffic & Conversion Summit will help you grow your business by teaching you how to get more, yes, traffic and conversions. While this conference isn’t just about social media, there are many social media sessions such as Selling Physical Products? Steal These 3 Proven Facebook Ad Campaigns31 Facebook Funnel Sequences You Can Build Right Now, and 5 Ways to Use Facebook Messenger Marketing to Grow Your Business.

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4. Social Media Week conferences

February 26 – March 2, multiple locations

Date: February 26 – March 2, 2018

Location: Austin, Bristol, Copenhagen, Hamburg, Lagos (and more)

Price: Varies depending on the location

Social Media Week and its partners organize more than 20 Social Media Week conferences all around the world throughout the year. The ones that are happening next in February and March are in Austin, Bristol, Copenhagen, Hamburg, and Lagos. Their flagship conference will be happening in April in New York. Check out the rest of the conference here. There might be one near you!

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5. Digital Marketing Innovation Summit

February 27-28, New York

Digital Marketing Innovation Summit

(As this video couldn’t be embedded, I’ve linked the image above to the video.)

Date: February 27-28, 2018

Location: New York

Price: $600 to $2,495

Digital Marketing Innovation Summit brings together senior digital and social marketers to share how to build a meaningful digital marketing strategy. A few of the key discussion points for the conference are social media, personalization, tracking & attribution, and audience engagement.

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6. Social Media Marketing World

February 28 – March 2, San Diego

Date: February 28 – March 2, 2018

Location: San Diego, California

Price: $297 to $1,597 (Virtual tickets are $697 each.)

Social Media Marketing World is one of the most anticipated social media conferences by one of the most knowledgeable teams in the social media space, Social Media Examiner. This year, up to 5,000 social media marketing professionals will hear from top names such as Guy Kawasaki, Mari Smith, and Jay Baer during the 120+ sessions. Check out some of the testimonials from the conference last year.

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7. Social Media Conference for PR, Marketing, and Corporate Communications

March 14-16, Orlando

(This is a video they made for their 2016 conference.)

Date: March 14-16, 2018

Location: Orlando

Price: $1,495 to $1,995 (Live video webcast tickets are $1295)

Social Media Conference for PR, Marketing, and Corporate Communications is exactly as its name suggests. Speakers from companies such as Amazon Web Services, Disney Parks, and Salesforce will be talking about best practices to boost buzz, build brand recognition, and engage employees. (This conference will be held at the Walt Disney World Resort!)

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8. Digital Marketing World Forum Expo Global

April 16-17, London

Date: April 16-17, 2018

Location: London

Price: £89 to £999

Digital Marketing World Forum Expo Global (or #DMWF), attended by mostly managers, directors, and VP, seeks to explore the future of digital marketing and social media. There are two conference tracks: 1) Content and social media marketing and 2) Data, disruptive tech, and UX. #DMWF also has conferences in Amsterdam (September) and New York (November).

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9. Social Media Strategies Summit

April 24-26, Chicago

Date: April 24-26, 2018

Location: Chicago

Prices: $1,999 to $2,989

Social Media Strategies Summit, which takes place three times a year in San Francisco (February), Chicago (April), and New York (October), is a social media conference for senior-level corporate professionals who are working on social media marketing. The speakers for Social Media Strategies Summit (Chicago) include senior marketers of companies such as McDonald’s, Microsoft, and Kickstarter.

(We are proud to be a media partner for the Social Media Strategies Summit.)

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10. Social Media Camp

May 2-3, Victoria, British Columbia

Date: May 2-3, 2018

Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Price: $499

Social Media Camp is the largest social media conference in Canada. In 2018, they will be organizing their ninth Social Media Camp, which will bring together people from different sectors of the economy (small business, large business, government, education, and non-profit). They will go beyond marketing and discuss social media’s impact on politics, security, and safety.

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11. Content Marketing Conference

May 2-4, Boston

Date: May 2-4, 2018

Location: Boston

Price: $749 to $1,649

Content Marketing Conference will help you level up on the key areas of content marketing, from planning and creation to optimization and distribution. There’s a day allocated for comedy marketing, where you’ll learn to use humor to drive engagement, loyalty, and marketing performance.

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12. The Social Shake-Up

May 7-9, Atlanta

Date: May 7-9, 2018

Location: Atlanta

Price: $1,195 to $2,390

The Social Shake-Up is a three-day social media conference by PR News and Social Media Today to help you discover new ways to integrate social media into your overall business strategy. The speakers come from brands like Twitter, Google, Microsoft, The Coca-Cola Company, and more.

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13. Engage

May 16-18, Prague

Date: May 16-18, 2018

Location: Prague

Price: €449 to €1,199

Engage is a social media marketing conference by SocialBakers, a company which provides an AI-powered social media marketing suite. If Prague is a little far for you, Socialbakers is also organizing a social media summit in Bali in March.

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14. Brand Marketing Summit

May 30-31, San Francisco

Date: May 30-31, 2018

Location: San Francisco

Price: $1,645 to $3,095

Brand Marketing Summit is the marketing conference to go to if you want to hear from top marketing leaders from some of the biggest companies on how they run social and marketing. For example, you’ll get to hear from amazing people such as Jennifer Sey (CMO at Levi Strauss & Co), Jill Cress (CMO at National Geographic), and Niloy Sanyal (CMO at GE Digital).

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15. Social Media Summit

May, Dublin

Date: May (To be confirmed)

Location: Dublin

Price: To be confirmed

Based on its agenda last year, Social Media Summit seems like one not to be missed. There was a variety of speakers, from marketers from big companies like Airbnb, HubSpot, and Intercom to founders of boutiques and marketing agencies. Keep an eye out for more information when the conference is launched!

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16. Social Day

May 30 – June 1, London

Date: May 30 – June 1, 2018

Location: London

Price: £312 to £560

Social Day used to be a one-day event, and it has been lengthened to three days this year because past attendees wanted it to be longer. Representatives from Facebook, Twitter, and Linkedin will be speaking at this year’s Social Day so you might get insights there that you’ll never get elsewhere.

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17. VidCon

June 20-23, Anaheim

Date: June 20-23, 2018

Location: Anaheim, California

Price: $125 to $850

VidCon is a conference for people who love and make videos online. It has three tracks for attendees to choose from 1) Community, 2) Creator, and 3) Industry (which seems best for marketers and business owners).

Some of the talks sound really exciting, such as Features and Franchises: How BuzzFeed Takes ‘Viral’ and Creates A BrandHow to Produce TV Quality Programming on an Internet Video Budget, and Hacking the Facebook Algorithm – Inside Facebook’s Secret Promotional Code.

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18. INBOUND

September 4-7, Boston

Date: September 4-7, 2018

Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Price: $599 to $2,199

INBOUND by HubSpot is probably the biggest marketing conference all year. In 2017, more than 20,000 marketers and salespeople attended INBOUND to learn the top marketing and sales practices and be inspired by keynote speakers such as Michelle Obama, Aziz Ansari, Seth Godin, BrenĂ© Brown, and Martha Stewart.

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19. Content Marketing World

September 4-7, Cleveland

Date: September 4-7, 2018

Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Price: $999 to $2,499

With 225 speakers and more than 4,000 expected attendees, Content Marketing World is likely going to be the largest content marketing conference of the year. Last year, their featured speakers included Linda Boff, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, and Casey Neistat. Wow!

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20. CMX Summit

October 1-3, Portland

Date: October 1-3, 2018

Location: Portland, Oregon

Price: To be announced (Tickets were priced at $749 in 2017.)

As social media becomes more of an engagement channel, it has become ever more important to build your community and engage your fans. CMX Summit will show you practical ways to build your communities for business success.

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21. Spredfast’s Smart Social Summit

November 5-7, Austin

Date: November 5-7, 2018

Location: Austin

Price: $1,395

Smart Social Summit is an annual social media conference by Spredfast, a company which provides enterprise social media management software. Last year, their speakers included top executives of companies like GE, charity: water, Facebook, and more. Oh, and former First Lady, Michelle Obama! Spredfast has two more Smart Social events happening this year in New York City (April) and in London (June).

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22. Social Fresh Conference

December 5-7, Winter Park, Florida

Date: December 5-7, 2018

Location: Winter Park, Florida

Price: To be announced (Tickets were priced at $747 in 2017.)

Social Fresh Conference just wrapped up their 20th social media conference in 2017 and has announced their presale for 2018. This year’s conference will focus on increasing engagement, growing revenue, and what the future holds for social marketing. They will also be including Industry Training tracks for finance, higher education, hospitality, and nonprofits. Speakers will be announced starting in March.

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What’s your favorite social media conference?

These are just some of the most well-known, long-running social media conferences around. And there are likely many less well-known but awesome conferences that I have not included in this blog post. If you know of any, especially those happening in Asia, I would love for you to share them in the comments section below.

Also, if you have been to any of these conferences before, would you be up for sharing your experiences below? It’ll be very helpful to fellow readers who are considering to attend social media conferences this year.

Happy conferencing!

The awesome images in this blog post were from Unsplash and PR News Facebook Page.



source https://blog.bufferapp.com/social-media-conferences-2018